This is the "Home" page of the "Mythological Monsters/Mrs. Gordon (English 9)" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Mythological Monsters/Mrs. Gordon (English 9)   Tags: gordon, monsters, mythological monsters, mythology, odyssey  

Last Updated: Mar 19, 2013 URL: http://hslibguides.islipufsd.org/monsters Print Guide RSS Updates
Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Assignment Handout

    MLA Style Guide

    Turnitin

    Quick Links: Online Resources

    • Library Catalog: Destiny
      Books in our collection including eBooks. Also, hyperlinks leading to Gale eBooks and Catalist audiobooks. App available (Andriod/IOS) - Destiny Quest/Follett.
    • Virtual Reference Collection (Online Databases)
      Username and password can be found on page 4 of your planner.
    • Gale eBooks
      Includes 'for Students' series (Novels, Poetry, Short Stories, etc.). American Decades, Gale Encyclopedia of Mental Health, Gale Encyclopedia of Fitness, Psychologist & their Theories for Students. App available (Android/IOS) - Gale/Access My Library.
    • NoodleTools
      Use NoodleTools for your bibliograpphies, outlines and notetaking.
    • Turnitin
      If you need help on setting up a student account, enrolling in a class and uploading your paper us our Turnitin LibGuide.
     

    Databases to Use

    The Virtual Reference Collection (VRC) username and password can be found on page four of your planner.

    In the History/Geography section of the VRC, choose ABC-CLIO World History/Ancient & Medieval Eras.  Type term (name of monster) into search bar, evaluate hits (results). Some results may have multiple meanings such as Phoenix (the mythological creature) and Phoenix (the city in Arizona, US). Make sure your hit is RELEVANT.

    The database will provide you with the MLA citation at the end of the article. Copy and paste this into your Works Cited doc.

     

     

    In the encyclopedia section of the VRC, choose Grolier Encyclopedia Americana, Type term (name of monster) into search bar, evaluate hits (results). Some results may have multiple meanings such as Phoenix (the mythological creature) and Phoenix (the city in Arizona, US). Make sure your hit is RELEVANT.

    You may use World Book Online, also.

    Both databases will provide you with the MLA citation at the end of the article. Copy and paste this into your Works Cited doc.

     

    Books to Use

    A 'Resource List of Mythological Monsters' - books in our school library.

    Find the appropriate book(s), take notes.

    For citations, at the bottom of the Resource List page click on  'Create - citation list - Go'. Copy and paste the citations you need.

      Create citation list Go

    Description

    Loading  Loading...

    Tip