Last Updated: Apr 9, 2014
- Dr. Seuss Goes to War
Call #: 940.54 MIN (This book is in our collection)
From 1941-1943, T. Giesel was the chief editorial cartoonist for the New York newspaper PM (1940-1948), and for that journal he drew over 400 editorial cartoons. The Dr. Seuss Collection in the Mandeville Special Collections Library at the University of California, San Diego, contains the original drawings and/or newspaper clippings of all of these cartoons. This website makes these cartoons available to all internet users. The cartoons have been scanned from the original newspaper clippings in the UCSD collection.
- Association of American Editorial Cartoonists
The Association of American Editorial Cartoonists is a professional association concerned with promoting the interests of staff, freelance and student editorial cartoonists in the United States. The AAEC sponsors a Cartoons for the Classroom program designed to aid educators at all levels in teaching history, economics, social studies and current events.
- Cartoon Image Database
Search the Cartoon Image Database of Ohio State University's Billy Ireland Cartoon Library & Museum. You can search names of cartoonists as well as topics and historical events.
- Stars of Political Cartooning
Comic Book Resources website by Brian Cronin. Profiles 31 deceased political cartoonists. (October 1, 2008)
- America in Caricature 1765-1865
This online exhibition highlights selections from a rich collection of political cartoons in the Lilly Library. The caricatures depict times of turbulence in American history and range in date from the Revolutionary War to the War of 1812 and to the presidential elections of 1860 and 1864 which brought Abraham Lincoln to the White House. To facilitate browsing, the exhibition is divided by time period and includes a section on the history of caricature.
Proquest Historical NY Times - advanced search 'editorial cartoons'
Artist’s Name. “Title of the cartoon or comic strip (if any).” Descriptive label (Cartoon/Comic strip). Publication information. Medium.
Wilson, Tom. “Ziggy.” Comic strip. Newsday [New York] 13 September 2009: n. pag. Print.
Gina Seymour, MLS, M.Ed.
Fax: 631-650-8338Send Email
Library Journal Movers & Shakers (2017) SSLMA, School Librarian of the Year (2014)