This is the "Citing" page of the "NoodleTools" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Last Updated: Sep 3, 2014 URL: http://hslibguides.islipufsd.org/noodletools Print Guide RSS Updates

Citing Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Why Cite?

  • Give Credit to the Author or Creator
  • Locate Sources
  • Avoid Plagiarism
  • Stay Organized
 

Class Assignment / Rubric

  • All your sources are correctly cited and your list includes an appropriate range of relevant online and print sources.
  • Notecards about your sources are well organized, and they identify key points both in the author's quote and your assignment.
  • The notecards show you understand the author's meaning and/or you ask thoughtful questions.
  • Your outline's topic demonstrates original thinking, is well organized, and is relevant to your assignment.
 

Citing Basics

 

One of the keys to citing correctly is knowing what it is you are citing. Are you citing from a database with original content (ie ABC CLIO), with reprinted reference book information (Gale Virtual Reference Library and others), from a magazine, journal (Proquest K-12 or SIRS is all journals), newspaper (ProQuest Historical Newspapers), website? How can you tell?

The databases provide clues in their citations, no matter what style they are using.

If the information from the database includes:

  • a date of publication as a year and includes a publisher, it is most likely a book or reference source. Reference Sources include anything with the words Encyclopedia or Dictionary in the title.
  • a full date of publication, including day, month, and year, it is most likely a newspaper. Also if the title of the source has the words Post, Times, or the name of a city in it, it is probably a newspaper.
  • a season and a year indicates it is probably a journal.
  • a month and a year indicates it might be a magazine or journal. Sometimes magazines have complete dates too.
  • When in doubt, Google the name of the source!

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip