This is the "Home" page of the "Global History/ 9H Holdsworth" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Global History/ 9H Holdsworth   Tags: global, global history, history, holdsworth, social studies  

Research paper assignment guide.
Last Updated: Jun 2, 2016 URL: http://hslibguides.islipufsd.org/content.php?pid=454547 Print Guide RSS Updates
Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Research Topics

Chicago Style

NoodleTools LibGuide

 

Textbook Citations

Just the textbook:

Beck, Roger B., Linda Black, Larry S. Krieger, Philip C. Naylor, and Dahia Ibo Shabaka. World History: Patterns of Interaction. New York ed. Evanston, Ill.: McDougal Littell, 2005.

Full footnote:
     1. Roger B. Beck et al., World History: Patterns of Interaction, new york ed. (Evanston, Ill.: McDougal Littell, 2005), [Page #].

Shortened footnote (for subsequent citations):
     2. Beck et al., World History: Patterns of Interaction, [Page #].

A primary source document/section of the textbook:

di Tura, Agnolo. "Plague in Siena." In World History: Patterns of Interaction, by Roger B. Beck, Linda Black, Larry S. Krieger, Philip C. Naylor, and Dahia Ibo Shabaka. New York ed. Evanston, Ill.: McDougal Littell, 2005.

Full footnote:
     1. Agnolo di Tura, "Plague in Siena," in World History: Patterns of Interaction, by Roger B. Beck, et al., new york ed. (Evanston, Ill.: McDougal Littell, 2005), [Page #].

Shortened footnote (for subsequent citations):
     2. di Tura, "Plague in Siena," in World History: Patterns of Interaction, [Page #].

 

Helpful Tips

When using the Biography Databases, choose the "Humanitites" Chicago Style citation (not author-date).

If you're researching a person you can use the Biography databases AND the history databases. They will provide an historic overview and the historical impact that person has made.

Use Noodle Tools for your bibliography, notes and outline.

If you're researching a religious leader you can also use ABC-CLIO World Religions.

 

Need Citation or Research Help?

You can contact Mrs. Seymour for help with citations, research, Turnitin, and technical issues. Content and assignment questions should be directed to your classroom teacher.

Quick Links: Online Resources

  • Library Catalog: Destiny
    Books in our collection including eBooks. Also, hyperlinks leading to Gale eBooks and Catalist audiobooks. App available (Andriod/IOS) - Destiny Quest/Follett.
  • Virtual Reference Collection (Online Databases)
    Username and password can be found on page 4 of your planner.
  • Gale eBooks
    Includes 'for Students' series (Novels, Poetry, Short Stories, etc.). American Decades, Gale Encyclopedia of Mental Health, Gale Encyclopedia of Fitness, Psychologist & their Theories for Students. App available (Android/IOS) - Gale/Access My Library.
  • NoodleTools
    Use NoodleTools for your bibliograpphies, outlines and notetaking.
  • Turnitin
    If you need help on setting up a student account, enrolling in a class and uploading your paper us our Turnitin LibGuide.
 

I'm Searching for Events...

(Username and password for the Virtual Reference Collection can be found in your planner.)

On the Virtual Reference Collection:

 

ABC-CLIO World History/Ancient & Medieval Eras (Prehistory - 1500)

ABC-CLIO World History/Modern Era (1500 - Current)

 

  • Use the 'Quick Search' to find your topic.
  • Use the print friendly option 'Print This Document'.
  • Citations are given in MLA, APA and Chicago styles; just use the 'Cite This Docment' link in the upper right side.
  • When entering bibliographic information into NoodleTools, choose 'Database' then 'Original Content'

 

History Study Center

  • Use ''Cite this for citations (only generated in MLA style).
  • You can View the entire article as PDF and also save the PDF to your 'my documents' or flash drive.
  • To Print: use "Print View" for the displayed page and "View article as PDF" then 'print' the entire article, depending on which option you need.
 

I'm Searching for a Person...

Username and passwords for the Virtual Reference Center can be found on page 4 of your planner.

On the Virtual Reference Collection:

 

Biography Reference Center

If you need help selecting a person you can search/browse by genre, such as 'Artists' or 'Current World Leaders', on the home page of Biography Reference Bank Select. Otherwise just use the search bar in the upper left corner.

 

When you've found your person you have several options:

,

  •  You can print out the information using the printer friendly option.
  • Choose the citation icon (see image); you'll have many style formats to choose from such as MLA and Chicago (choose 'Humanities' if using Chicago Style).

 

Biography Reference Bank

If you need to find a specific type of person, such as an artist or activist, you can search from the home page (see image below).

When you've found your person:

  • you can print out the information using the printer friendly option.
  • Choose the citation icon (see image below); you'll have many style formats to choose from such as MLA and Chicago (choose 'Humanities' if using Chicago Style).

 

Searching for Books in Our Library

Search our Catalog.

Items with an 'e' located next to the title is available online. These are eBooks in our collection.

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip