This is the "Home" page of the "Charles Dickens & Victorian England (Eng 9H): Armano" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Charles Dickens & Victorian England (Eng 9H): Armano   Tags: armano, charles dickens, great expectations, victorian england  

Last Updated: Mar 1, 2017 URL: http://hslibguides.islipufsd.org/content.php?pid=444140 Print Guide RSS Updates
Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

GVRL

x

Quick Links: Online Resources

  • Library Catalog: Destiny
    Books in our collection including eBooks. Also, hyperlinks leading to Gale eBooks and Catalist audiobooks. App available (Andriod/IOS) - Destiny Quest/Follett.
  • Virtual Reference Collection (Online Databases)
    Username and password can be found on page 4 of your planner.
  • Gale eBooks
    Includes 'for Students' series (Novels, Poetry, Short Stories, etc.). American Decades, Gale Encyclopedia of Mental Health, Gale Encyclopedia of Fitness, Psychologist & their Theories for Students. App available (Android/IOS) - Gale/Access My Library.
  • NoodleTools
    Use NoodleTools for your bibliograpphies, outlines and notetaking.
  • Turnitin
    If you need help on setting up a student account, enrolling in a class and uploading your paper us our Turnitin LibGuide.
 

Resources on the Virtual Reference Collection

Virtual Reference Collection (VRC)
(Username and Password can be found on page 4 of your planner.)

In the 'Literature/Language' section:
Proquest Learning Literature (Dickens and his works, time period, KnowledgeNote overview)

Citation example for KnowledgeNote (don't forget to change the date of access):
"KnowledgeNote Study Guide: Great Expectations." ProQuest Learning Literature. ProQuest LLC, 2002. Web. 5 March 2013.

Literature Resource Center (Dickens and his works, themes such as social class)
Bloom's Literary Reference (Dickens and his works, character analysis, themes such as 'hope in Great Expectations', Use the "How to Write About" section to come up with interesting thesis statements). You'll need to change the given (Chicago Style) citation into MLA Style. Here's how: delete the URL, write the word Web followed by a period. Then change date to day month year followed by a period.

Example:
http://www.fofweb.com/activelink2.asp?ItemID=WE54&SID=5&iPin= ETL0307&SingleRecord=True (accessed April 7, 2013).

Change to:
Web. 7 April 2013. (Also, check capitalization of titles as needed).
In the 'History/Geography' section:
ABC-CLIO World History (Historical background)
History Study Center (Historical background and primary sources. Study Units include: "The Role of Women in Britain, 1837-1913", "Education in Victorian Britain," "Crime and Punishment in Victorian Britain," and more.)
In the 'Encyclopedias' section:
World Book Encyclopedia (General information)
Grolier's Encyclopedia (General information)
In the 'Biography' section:
Biography Reference Center (Biographies)
Biography Reference Bank (Biographies, i.e. Dickens)
In the 'Magazines/Newspapers' section:
elibrary
 

In Our Library (Library Catalog Destiny)

Try some of the following search terms to start:
Great Britain -- History -- Victoria, 1837-1901
Dickens, Charles, 1812-1870
Check out this Resource List in Destiny

Find the appropriate book(s), take notes.

For citations, at the bottom of the Resource List page click on 'Create - citation list - Go'. Copy and paste the citations you need. Keep in mind they are not 100% accurate, you will have to fix them as needed.

 

In our Reference Section:

Novels for Students

Literature and It's Time

eBook versions can be found by searching the GVRL widget to the left.

On the Free Web

These sites have been evaluated and deemed credible for your project. If you use any other websites you will be required to evaluate that site prior to use. Use the Website Evaluation Form.

 

 

Example of Website/Webpage Citation

Author's Last Name, First Name Middle Name (if noted). "Title of Webpage." Title of Website. Publisher or sponsor of the site (or N.p. if not given), Date of publication (or n.d. if not given). Web (this is the Source Medium). Date of access (written as day month year). <URL>.

MLA Style Guide

 

Textbook Citation

Dickens, Charles. Great Expectations. Abridged by Blanche Jennings Thomson. Rpt. in Adventures in Reading. Orlando: Harcourt, Brace, Jovanovich, 1979. 560-726. Print.

Turnitin

NoodleTools LibGuide

 

Need Citation or Research Help?

You can contact Mrs. Seymour for help with citations, research, Turnitin, and technical issues. Content and assignment questions should be directed to your classroom teacher.

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip