This is the "Home" page of the "Crucible/Gatsby/Frome (Eng 11R) Armano/Trosko" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Crucible/Gatsby/Frome (Eng 11R) Armano/Trosko   Tags: armano, crucible, frome, gatsby, trosko  

Last Updated: Mar 19, 2013 URL: http://hslibguides.islipufsd.org/content.php?pid=440694 Print Guide RSS Updates
Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Armano/Trosko Assignment

 

GVRL

x
 

Our Audiobooks

Click on image above to access our Audiobook collection.

Username/Password - same as VRC (pg. 4 of your planner).

Quick Links: Online Resources

  • Library Catalog: Destiny
    Books in our collection including eBooks. Also, hyperlinks leading to Gale eBooks and Catalist audiobooks. App available (Andriod/IOS) - Destiny Quest/Follett.
  • Virtual Reference Collection (Online Databases)
    Username and password can be found on page 4 of your planner.
  • Gale eBooks
    Includes 'for Students' series (Novels, Poetry, Short Stories, etc.). American Decades, Gale Encyclopedia of Mental Health, Gale Encyclopedia of Fitness, Psychologist & their Theories for Students. App available (Android/IOS) - Gale/Access My Library.
  • NoodleTools
    Use NoodleTools for your bibliograpphies, outlines and notetaking.
  • Turnitin
    If you need help on setting up a student account, enrolling in a class and uploading your paper us our Turnitin LibGuide.
 

How is a marriage influenced by time period?

Think of the time period for each book:

The Crucible - 1600s

In ABC-CLIO American History:

Search for colonial/purtian marriage and family.

 

Ethan Frome - late 1800s, turn of the century

Use the article I gave you from Literature and its Time.

Moss, Joyce, and George Wilson. "Ethan Frome by Edith Wharton." Literature and Its Times: Profiles of 300 Notable Literary Works and the Historical Events That Influenced Them. Detroit: Gale, 1997. 125-29. Print.

 

The Great Gatsby - 1920s

 Look on ABC-CLIO American History - Eras - 1920s - "Roaring Twenties", "New Women", "F. Scott Fitzgerald".

 Article I handed out:

"The Great Gatsby by F. Scott Fitzgerald." Novels for Students: Presenting Analysis, Context and Criticism on Commonly Studied Novels. Ed. Diane Telgen. Vol. 2. Detroit, MI: Gale, 1997. 146-152. Print.

 

What causes indivduals to commit adultery?

Factors within a relationship

Societal conventions

Look at each of the main characters who commit adultery. Read the character analysis for more information.

On the Virtual Reference Collection:

Use Bloom's, Literature Resource Center, and Proquest Learning Literature.

For societal conventions you may use the historical databases on the VRC such as, ABC-CLIO American History, SIRS Decades (1920s only), or History Study Center.

MLA Style Guide

Turnitin

 

Proquest Knowledge Notes Citations

"KnowledgeNote Study Guide: The Crucible." ProQuest Learning Literature. ProQuest LLC, 2002. Web. 5 March 2013.

"KnowledgeNote Study Guide: Ethan Frome." ProQuest Learning Literature. ProQuest LLC, 2002. Web. 5 March 2013.

"KnowledgeNote Study Guide: The Great Gatsby." ProQuest Learning Literature. ProQuest LLC, 2002. Web. 5 March 2013.

 

Citations for this Project

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip