This is the "Home" page of the "Career Research Paper " guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Career Research Paper   Tags: careers  

Last Updated: Jan 12, 2017 URL: http://hslibguides.islipufsd.org/careerresearch Print Guide RSS Updates
Home Print Page
  Search: 
 

NoodleTools LibGuide

 

Noodle Tools Companion app (IOS)

QRCode
 

Noodle Tools Companion app (Android)

QRCode

How to Research a Career Online: Websites You Should Use

  • O-Net Online
    The O*NET database includes information on skills, abilities, knowledges, work activities, and interests associated with occupations. This information can be used to facilitate career exploration, vocational counseling, and a variety of human resources functions, such as developing job orders and position descriptions and aligning training with current workplace needs.

    Information in O*NET is available for over 900 occupations.
  • Occupational Outlook Handbook - Bureau of Labor Statistics
    The Occupational Outlook Handbook (OOH) is an online career guidance resource that provides information on hundreds of occupations in the United States. Updated every 2 years by the Bureau of Labor Statistics (BLS), the OOH allows students to explore different aspects of occupations by clicking on the following tabs:

    What workers do on the job
    Work environment
    Education, training, and other qualifications needed to enter the occupation
    Pay
    Projected employment change and job prospects from 2012 to 2022
    Similar occupations
    Contacts for more information
 

Works Cited Examples MLA 8th

This is an example of Bureau of Labor Statistics:

Bureau of Labor Statistics. "Librarians." Occupational Outlook Handbook, US
     Department of Labor, 8 Jan. 2014, www.bls.gov/ooh/
     education-training-and-library/librarians.htm#tab-1. Accessed 16 Sept.
     2014.

This is an example of ONet:

National Center for O*NET Development. "Summary Report For: 25-4021.00 -
     Librarians." O-Net Online, 2010, www.onetonline.org/link/summary/
     25-4021.00. Accessed 3 Nov. 2014.

Here is a generic website/webpage example:

 

Using NoodleTools

You need a NoodleTools account - create one if you don't already have an account.

After you log in choose "Create a New Project" and select the following options:

  • Citation Style: MLA
  • Citation Level: Advanced
  • Description: Career Project
  • Then click 'create project' to Save

On the Dashboard of your project:

Sharing and Collaboration -  Click link: Share Project with a Teacher's Dropbox - type Careers and the dropbox will appear - click 'Share Project"

 

Bibliography:

Cite a _______________ In the drop down menu choose "Website" - then click "Create Citation"

You will type in the requested information. If a yellow caution triangle pops up, this is a warning that something may be wrong. Read the description and fix any mistakes.

Then click "SUBMIT" to Save.

 

Notecards:

Choose "New Notecard" (Upper left side)

Give your card a "Title" (Main Idea)

Source: this is a dropdown menu. Choose your source. Hint: you must enter the citations first before you can create notecards.

You may 'Tag' the card if you wish

You have 3 options for notetaking:

  • Direct Quote - just copy and paste
  • Paraphrase or Summary - Rewrite the quotation by restating the idea in your own words.
  • My ideas - Interpret, evaluate and reflect on what you've just learned. Ask questions about what you don't understand. Identify what you want to know more about. List what you need to do next.

Click "SAVE" (Lower right side)

 

In this section you will also create the following OUTLINE:

 

Here's an example: Occupational Outlook Handbook

Occupational Outlook Handbook Example:

1.

2.

3.

4.

 

Here's an example: O-Net Online

O-Net Online

For 'Author' type in National Cener for O*Net Development

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip